Environmental Law Awards

  • Justice William O. Douglas Award, presented by the Sierra Club, for significant national accomplishments in the field of environmental law. The Sierra Club’s top national award for legal achievement. (2002)
  • Kerry Rydberg Award, University of Oregon Public Interest Environmental Law Conference, for long-term service in the field of public interest law. (2010)
  • Gary Holmquist Award, Montana Wildlife Federation, for efforts to protect Montana’s wildlife, uphold a citizen’s initiative to limit game farms in Montana, and to promote Montana’s fair-chase hunting legacy. (2009)
  • Nick Cramis Award, presented by Ravalli County Fish and Game Association, for outstanding contributions to wildlife conservation, including legal work to protect wild big horn sheep. (2004)
  • Don Aldrich Conservation and Wildlife Award, presented annually by the Montana Power Company, for promoting citizen contribution to conservation. (2001)
  • Golden Lantern Award, presented by Montana Wilderness Association, for contributions to wilderness protection in Montana. (1999)
  • Special Achievement Award, presented by Montana Wildlife Federation, for efforts to protect Montana’s wildlife.(1998)
  • Conservation Award for Outstanding Legal Work, presented by the Alliance for the Wild Rockies for legal efforts to protect bull trout under the Endangered Species Act. (1995)
Wildlife protection